CHÂTEAU DE SAUMUR

Decorative Arts and Horse Museum
Objet dynamique vectoriel2
UNESCO World Heritage
Alexandre Hellebuyck

Opening hours

From Tuesday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 5.30 p.m. 

« Château d’Amour »

René I of Anjou's "Château of Love" on its "emerald rock", the Château de Saumur played host to kings and prisoners. It is one of the greatest and last untouched remnants of princely architecture from the Valois dynasty in the Middle Ages.

LOIRE VALLEY EXPERIENCE

Incredible history and architecture

The château appeared in all its glory in the Très Riches Heures du duc de Berry illumination and has had a turbulent past, narrowly avoiding demolition. The 11th century Roman tower was surrounded by four round towers before they were levelled off. Louis I of Anjou turned the château into a palace. In the 15th century, his son, Louis II, made it look how you see it now.

King René's spirit may live on but, for a century after his death, the château was left empty until the protestant governor Duplessis-Mornay moved in in 1589. The latter made a citadel built around the castle with redan and bastions, completed a long time after his deposition, which was demanded by Louis XIII. Under Louis XIV, the castle, used as a garrison and a prison, sharply deteriorated itself and Napoleon I’s assignment as state prison saved it from ruin. Saumur Council bought it in 1906 to restore it to house the municipal museum, approved Musée de France, displaying notably Count Charles Lair’s collection.

Fantastic views

Drink in fabulous views of the old town, Loire River and its UNESCO World Heritage valley. Stroll along the stepped fortifications and bastions built whilst the protestant governor Philippe Duplessis Mornay was in power in the late 16th century.

CHÂTEAU DE SAUMUR

Musée des arts décoratifs et du cheval
Objet dynamique vectoriel2
Patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco
Alexandre Hellebuyck

Ouverture du château

Du mardi au dimanche de 10h à 13h et de 14h à 17h30

« Château d’Amour »

Reposant sur sa « roche d’émeraude » pour
René Ier d’Anjou, le château de Saumur, qui a accueilli en ses murs des rois comme des prisonniers, est un des plus beaux et derniers témoignages intacts de l’architecture princière du Moyen Âge.

ESCALE EN VAL DE LOIRE

Une histoire et une architecture exceptionnelles

Figuré dans toute sa splendeur sur l’enluminure des Très Riches Heures du duc de Berry, le château a connu une histoire mouvementée, échappant de peu à la démolition. La tour romane du XIe siècle s’est vue entourée de quatre tours rondes avant d’être arasée. Louis Ier d’Anjou transforme le château en palais. Son fils, Louis II, lui donne au XVe siècle sa silhouette actuelle.

Si le souvenir du roi René demeure, le château est resté après sa mort, pendant un siècle, inhabité, avant d’accueillir en 1589 le gouverneur protestant Duplessis-Mornay. Ce dernier fait édifier, autour du château une citadelle à bastions et redans achevée bien après sa destitution exigée par Louis XIII. Sous Louis XIV, le château, lieu de garnison et prison, se dégrade fortement et son affectation en prison d’État par Napoléon Ier le sauve de la ruine. En 1906, le château est acheté par la Ville de Saumur qui entreprend sa restauration pour abriter le musée municipal, labellisé Musée de France, avec notamment la collection du comte Charles Lair.

Un panorama
exceptionnel

Surplombant le cœur historique de la ville, profitez du remarquable panorama sur la Loire et sa vallée, classée au patrimoine mondial par l'Unesco. Cheminez sur les remparts à redans et bastions construits sous le gouvernorat protestant de Philippe Duplessis Mornay à la fin du 16e siècle.